Daniel 7.9-10,13-14

And I watched as thrones were put into place, and one who was ancient in days took his seat. His clothes were bright like snow, and the hair of his head was like pure wool; his throne was flames of fire, his wheels the burning of fire, and a fast-flowing river of fire went forth from his face. Thousands of thousands served him, and tens of thousands of hundreds of thousands  attended on him; he sat in judgment, and the books were opened.

So in a vision by night I watched, and behold, one came with the clouds of the sky, in the appearance of a son of man, and he approached the one ancient in days, and was presented before his face. And he gave him power, and honor, and rule; and all peoples, tribes and tongues served him; his power is an eternal power, which shall not pass from him; and his rule, which shall not be destroyed.

Apocalypse 1.4b-8

Grace to you and peace, from the one who is and who was and who is yet to come, and from the seven spirits who are in the sight of his throne, and from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, the first-begotten from the dead, and the prince of the kings of the earth; who loved us and washed us from our sins in his blood, and made us kings and priests to God and his father; to whom may there be glory and majesty for an age of ages, Amen.

Behold, he is coming with the clouds, and every eye shall see him, and those who pierced him through; and at the sight all the tribes of the earth shall wail. Indeed, Amen!

“I am Alpha and Omega, the A and Z, the start and the end,” says the Lord God, “the one who is, and who was, and who is yet to come; the almighty one.”

John 18.33-37

Then Pilate went again into the praetorium and called Jesus, and said to him, “Are you the king of the Jews?”

Jesus replied, “Do you say this of yourself, or have others told you of me?”

Pilate replied, “I am not a Jew, am I? Your own nation and chief priests brought you to me. What have you done?”

Jesus replied, “My kingdom is not of this world. If my kingdom were of this world, my servants would have fought, so that I would not have been handed over to the Jews. But now my kingdom is not from here.”

Then Pilate said to him, “So you are a king, then?”

Jesus replied, “It is you who say that I am a king. I am born into this, and to this end I came into the world, that I may bear the witness of truth. Everyone who is of the truth has heard my voice.”

(“the appearance of a son of man” means he looked like a person, but from this verse the apocalyptic concept of the Messiah has gained the name “the Son of Man”.)

